A New Journey is about to Begin…

“The capacity to Learn is a gift; the ability to learn is a skill; the willingness to learn is a choice.” – Brian Herbert

In life, learning is a never-ending process.  We constantly learn new things and modify the things we already know.  As we all know, change is inevitable.  This will then challenge our ability to adapt and deal with changes that can either make us or break us.

Embarking on another term of online learning is something that I would want to welcome with open arms.  My first term was both fulfilling and exhausting but fruitful as I have learned a lot not just in terms of the mental aspect but in all aspects.  Physically, it was a challenge to juggle both my work and my studies; socially, I met a lot of new friends and improved my interpersonal skills; emotionally, I learned to separate my emotions and being professional when it comes to feedback; and spiritually as when there are times that when I thought of giving up, God is always there to give me strength and I thank Him for everything.  All of these, I know, will likewise happen in this term of online learning but I’d like to see it on the brighter side, that is, taking this online program will enhance me and make me better in what I intend to do…to teach.

As a student of UPOU, I know that I am responsible for my own learning.  Though I have my FIC and classmates, I know that I should rely on myself to be able to do what I am supposed to do.  Spoon-feeding should not be a word in my vocabulary.  The opportunities to learn are given to me and I should make use of these and not waste it.  I will make mistakes I know but I should use these to be better.

Before starting this course, Teacher Roja wanted me to take 3 tests to understand the kind of learner I am.  For the Study Skills Inventory, I only had one section that needs attention as I scored below the benchmark and that is Note taking.  For the                Self-Regulation Questionnaire (SRQ), I scored 235 so I belong to the Intermediate (moderate) self-regulation capacity (middle quartiles) level.  For the Time Management Skills Test, I scored 45, putting me in the category 41 – 55 = Good time manager.

 I always like to take tests like this because it helps me realize a lot about myself and to keep me or get me back on track.  Looking at the results, I am glad to see that even if it has been years since I finished my college degree, I have maintained good learning skills though there are still a lot of room for improvement.  I need to enhance my note taking skills and manage my time to be able to do so.  There are a lot of distractions now compared to before so I should be able to get a hold of myself and realize when it’s time to stop unnecessary things that I am doing.  I need to improve my                   self-regulation skills and although I am a good time manager, it’s not bad to aim to be an excellent time manager.  The questions here were very specific and made me aware that there are things that I take for granted which if given attention to can help me achieve my goals easier.  Now, that I can pinpoint my loopholes, I think one way to help me is to read on techniques or strategies to manage these, for example, talking to a colleague or researching on the internet how to achieve same goals in less time.  Also, I need to have the will power and confidence in myself that I can do all the tasks given to me without being overwhelmed.  Again, tips to help me can be taken from resources from colleagues and the internet.

 

For this course, I pledge to grab and make use of the opportunities for learning that will be given to me and to believe in myself that I can achieve my goals.

Leave a Reply

